The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

# University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

April 26, 2019

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met at 9:00 a.m. on Friday, April 26, 2019, in the Alumni Center's C. Edward Floyd Boardroom to interview four finalists recommended by the Presidential Candidate Search Committee (PCSC).

Members participating were: Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Chairman; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley, Vice Chairman; Mr. C. Dan Adams; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Robert F. Dozier Jr.; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell III; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Richard A. Jones Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Ms. Rose Buyck Newton; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Ms. Molly M. Spearman; Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.; and Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Also present were USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chairman Marco Valtorta and USC Student Government President Luke Rankin.

Others in attendance were: Secretary J. Cantey Heath Jr.; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Vice President for Human Resources Caroline Agardy; PCSC members: Development Foundation Chairman W.C. Hammett, Jr.; Dr. Julius Fridriksson of USC Columbia; Dr. Araceli Hernandez-LaRoche of USC Upstate, immediate past USC Student Government President Taylor Wright; and Trustee Emeritus Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Director of Equal Opportunity Programs Cliff Scott; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; Chief Advancement Officer Paula Harper Bethea; Mr. Lee Bussell of Chernoff Newman; Associate Vice President for Law Enforcement and Safety Chris Wuchenich; from Parker Executive Search, President Laurie Wilder and Vice President Porsha Williams; and and Board of Trustees staff member Debra Allen.

#### I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chairman von Lehe called the meeting to order and stated notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business. Secretary Heath confirmed no Trustees were participating in the meeting by telephone.

BOT\_042619 Page 1 of 2

Mr. Hickman introduced Chris Clark with Gamecock Central, Tim Scott with ABC Columbia and Lucas Daprile with The State newspaper.

#### **Motion for Executive Session**

Chairman von Lehe called for a motion to enter Executive Session for interviews with the finalists recommended by the Presidential Candidate Search Committee. Mr. Mobley so moved, and Mr. Westbrook seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion passed.

Chairman von Lehe invited Secretary Heath, members of the Presidential Candidate Search Committee, Mr. Rankin, Mr. Parham, Ms. Agardy, Ms. Wilder, Ms. Williams, and Ms. Allen to remain.

#### **Executive Session**

When discussion concluded and the finalists informed, a return to Open Session was announced at 6:10 p.m.

## Return to Open Session

Vice Chairman Mobley, filling in for Chairman von Lehe who had lost his voice, called on Mr. Hickman to introduce the news media.

Mr. Hickman announced the following were in attendance: Chris Clark with Gamecock Central, Tim Scott with ABC Columbia, Lucas Daprile and Gavin McIntyre with The State newspaper; Hannah Dear, Stephanie Justice, Sarah Eissmann, Hannah Wade and Vanessa Purpura with The Daily Gamecock; Jamie Lovegrove with The Post and Courier newspaper; Ward Jolles, Spencer Buckler and Kendrie Lindsey with Student Gamecock Television (SGTV); Jimmy Kruckow and Carolyn Hecker with WIS-TV; Maya Queenan with Carolina News; and John Odom with WOLO-TV.

### II. Selection of the 29th President of the University of South Carolina

Vice Chairman Mobley called on Mr. Adams who said, "I move that the Board of Trustees continue the search for the 29th President of the University of South Carolina and appoint Dr. Brendan Kelly, Chancellor of USC Upstate, to serve as the interim president, effective August 1, 2019, to serve for a period of time to be determined by the Board." Mr. Lister seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion was approved unanimously.

## III. Adjournment

There being no other matters on the agenda, Vice Chairman Mobley adjourned the meeting at 6:16 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Cantey Heath, Jr., Secretary

BOT\_042619 Page 2 of 2