The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

## University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Health Affairs Committee - Called Meeting

January 10, 2020

The Health Affairs Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met in a called meeting at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, January 10, 2020, by telephone conference, hosted from Room 206B in the Osborne Administration Building.

Members participating were Mr. Robert F. Dozier Jr.; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Richard A.

Jones Jr.; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.; Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Board Chairman; and Mr. Hubert F. Mobley, Board Vice Chairman. Absent were Mr. William C. Hubbard and Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Other Board members participating were Mr. C. Dan Adams; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Ms. Rose Buyck Newton; and Mr. Thad H. Westbrook.

Also participating was Columbia Student Government President Luke Rankin.

Others present were President Robert L. Caslen Jr.; Secretary J. Cantey Heath Jr.; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Senior Vice President for Administration Edward L. Walton; Chief Audit Executive Pam Dunleavy; Interim Chief Communications Officer Jeff Stensland; School of Medicine Columbia Senior Associate Dean Caughman Taylor; Associate Vice President for Administration and Finance and Medical Business Affairs Jeffrey L. Perkins III; and Board staff member Ina Wilson.

I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Board Chairman von Lehe called the meeting to order, welcomed those in attendance, and asked everyone in the room to introduce themselves. Secretary Heath confirmed those participating by telephone. Mr. von Lehe stated notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business. Mr. Stensland said there were no members of the media in attendance.

II. <u>Election of New Health Affairs Committee Chair</u>

Board Chairman von Lehe opened the floor to nominations. Mr. Whittle nominated Dr. C.

Dorn Smith III as Chair of the Health Affairs Committee. Mr. Dozier seconded the nomination. Mr. Whittle then moved nominations be closed, which was seconded by Dr. Floyd, and there being no objection, Dr. Smith was elected by acclamation.

III. <u>Adjournment</u>

There being no other matters to come before the committee, the newly elected Health

Affairs Committee Chair, Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, adjourned the meeting at 10:06 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Cantey Heath, Jr. Secretary