The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina Board of Trustees

University System Committee Meeting

August 14, 2020

The University System Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met at 3:43 p.m. on Friday, August 14 in the Pastides Alumni Center Ballroom.

Committee members present were Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Robin D. Roberts; Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr.; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Board Chair; and Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Board Vice Chair. Joining by audio conference were Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs and Mr. Toney J. Lister.

Other Trustees present were Mr. C. Dan Adams; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Alex English; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.; Mr. Richard A. Jones Jr.; Ms. Leah B. Moody; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr. Joining by audio conference was Ms. Molly B. Spearman. Ms. Rose Buyck Newton and Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Also present were Board of Trustees Strategic Advisor David Seaton, Board of Trustees Governance Consultant Cameron Howell; USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chair Mark Cooper, and USC Columbia Student Government President Issy Rushton.

Others present were President Robert L. Caslen Jr.; Secretary J. Cantey Heath Jr.; Vice President for Human Resources Caroline Agardy; President's Chief of Staff Mark Bieger; Presidential Faculty Fellow and Executive Assistant to the President Susan Bon; Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives Jack Claypoole; Chief Audit Executive Pam Dunleavy;

UnivSysComm - 081420

Page 1 of 3

Palmetto College Chancellor Susan Elkins; Interim Chief Development Officer Will Elliott; Chief Information Officer Doug Foster; College of Music Dean Tayloe Harding; Alumni Association Chief Executive Officer Wes Hickman; Assistant to the President for System Affairs Eddie King; Director for the Office of Economic Engagement Bill Kirkland; Associate Vice President for Finance Kelly Epting; University Controller Mandy Kibler; General Counsel Terry Parham; Chief Operating Officer Jeffrey L. Perkins III; Vice President for Student Affairs Dennis A. Pruitt; USC Upstate Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs David Schecter; University Budget Director Joe Sobieralski; Director of Public Relations Jeff Stensland; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; Provost William F. Tate IV; Vice President for Communications Larry Thomas; Executive Vice President for Administration and Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Vice President for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Julian R. Williams; Board staff members Delphine Bigony and Christina McCormick; and CTS Production Manager Matthew Warthen.

Others joining by audio conference were University Foundations President and Chief Executive Officer Jason Caskey; USC Upstate Interim Chancellor J. Derham Cole Jr.; and USC Beaufort Chancellor Al Panu.

Members of the press participating by audio conference were Mr. Andy Shane from the *Post and Courier*; Ms. Christine Bardoff with *The Daily Gamecock*; Ms. Miranda Parnell with WIS; and Mr. Ben Briner with *The State* Newspaper.

OPEN SESSION

I. Call to Order

Chair Smith called the meeting to order and stated notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda has been provided to the committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

II. Election of 2020-2022 Committee Chair

Chair Smith opened the floor for nominations for Chair of the University System Committee.

Mr. Mobley moved to nominate Ms. Leah Moody and Mr. English seconded the motion. There were
no other nominations and the motion carried unanimously.

Chair Smith congratulated Ms. Moody on her election as Chair of the University System Committee.

III. Adjournment

There being no further business to discuss, Chair Smith adjourned the meeting at 3:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Cantey Heath, Jr. Secretary