The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Audit, Compliance and Risk Committee - Called

June 25, 2021

The Audit, Compliance and Risk Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees convened in a called meeting at 9:00 a.m. on Friday, June 25, 2021, in the Pastides Alumni Center Ballroom and by Microsoft Teams video conference.

Committee members present were Ms. Rose Buyck Newton, Chair; Mr. Richard A. Jones Jr.; Mr. Robin D. Roberts; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Board Chair; and Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Board Vice Chair. Members participating by Microsoft Teams were Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Ms. Emma W. Morris; and Mr. Charles H. Williams. Mr. Brian C. Harlan was absent.

Other Board members present were Mr. C. Dan Adams, Mr. Alex English, Dr. C. Edward Floyd, Mr. Toney J. Lister, Mr. Miles Loadholt, Mr. Hubert F. Mobley, Ms. Leah B. Moody, and Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr. Other members joining by Microsoft Teams were Ms. Molly Spearman, Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., and Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.

Also present were Trustee Emeritus Wayne Staton, USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chair Dr. Mark Cooper, and USC Columbia Student Government President Mr. Alex Harrell. Board of Trustees' Strategic Advisor Mr. David Seaton participated by Microsoft Teams video conference.

Others in attendance were Secretary Cameron Howell; Vice Provost and Dean of

ACRC_CALLED_062521 PAGE 1 OF 4

Faculty Cheryl Addy; Vice President for Human Resources Caroline Agardy; Vice President for System Affairs Derham Cole; Vice President for Development Monica Delisa; Chief Audit Executive Pam Dunleavy; Palmetto College Chancellor Susan Elkins; Associate Vice President for Finance and Budget Kelly Epting; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer Doug Foster; Presidential and Provostial Faculty Fellow Stacy Fritz; Dean of the School of Music Tayloe Harding; Chief Executive Officer USC Alumni Association Wes Hickman; Interim Director of Academic Programs Trena Houp; USC Aiken Chancellor Sandra Jordan; Assistant to the President for System Affairs Eddie King; Senior Deputy Athletics Director Chance Miller; Director of the Financial and Operational Audit Team Glenn Murray; USC Beaufort Chancellor Al Panu; General Counsel and Executive Director of Compliance Programs Terry Parham; Chief Operating Officer Jeff Perkins; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost Dennis Pruitt; Gamecock Connections Program Lead Luke Rankin Jr; Audit Manager Kenny Sexton; Special Assistant to the President James Smith; University Treasurer and Assistant Vice President of Administrative Operations and Chief of Staff Joe Sobieralski; Assistant Vice President of Media and External Engagement Jeff Stensland; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; Vice President for Communications Larry Thomas; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Ed Walton; Vice President for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Julian Williams; Public Relations Strategist Dana Woodward; and Board of Trustees' support staff.

OPEN SESSION

I. Call to Order

ACRC_CALLED_062521 PAGE 2 OF 4

Chair Newton called the meeting to order, welcomed everyone, and asked Trustees in the room to introduce themselves. Secretary Howell confirmed Trustees in attendance by Microsoft Teams video conference.

Chair Newton called on Mr. Jeff Stensland to introduce members of the media. Mr. Stensland introduced Andy Shain with the *Post and Courier*, Lucas Daprile and Michael Lananna with the *State*, and Collyn Taylor with the *Daily Gamecock*.

Chair Newton stated notice of the meeting and agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Newton stated there was a need for an Executive Session for the receipt of legal advice regarding pending litigation and personnel matters related to a review of salaries and benefits. Mr. Jones made a motion to enter Executive Session and Mr. Roberts seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried unanimously. Chair Newton invited the following to remain: Trustees, Mr. Seaton, Secretary Howell, Ms. Agardy, Ms. Dunleavy, Mr. Murray, Mr. Parham, Mr. Sexton, and Mr. Walton.

Chair Newton stated no action would be taken in Executive Session and the Audit,

Compliance and Risk Committee would adjourn immediately at the conclusion of all

Executive Session agenda items. She asked those not invited to remain to please step out.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive Session Removed

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

II. Adjournment

ACRC_CALLED_062521 PAGE **3** OF **4**

Chair Newton declared the meeting adjourned at 9:48 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cameron Howell Secretary

ACRC_CALLED_062521 PAGE 4 OF 4