The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES - CALLED

January 4, 2021

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees convened in a called meeting at 3:05 p.m. on Monday, January 4, 2021 by Microsoft Teams video conference.

Members participating by Microsoft Teams were Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Chair; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Vice Chair; Mr. C. Dan Adams; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Alex English; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Brian C. Harlan; Mr. Richard A. Jones Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Ms. Emma W. Morris; Ms. Rose Buyck Newton; Mr. Robin D. Roberts; Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr.; Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.; and Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr. Ms. Molly M. Spearman and Mr. Charles H. Williams were absent.

Others in attendance by Microsoft Teams video conference were Secretary J. Cantey Heath Jr.; Assistant Secretary Cameron Howell; President's Chief of Staff Mark Bieger; Presidential Faculty Fellow Susan Bon; General Counsel and Executive Director of Compliance Programs Terry Parham; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost Dennis Pruitt; Director of Athletics Ray Tanner; Special Assistant to the President James Smith; University Treasurer Joe Sobieralski; Assistant Vice President, Media and External Engagement Jeff Stensland; Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost William F. Tate IV; Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Ed Walton; and

BOT_CALLED 010421 PAGE **1** OF **4**

Board of Trustee Staff members Delphine Bigony and Cary Graham.

OPEN SESSION

I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chair Smith called the meeting to order, welcomed everyone, and asked Secretary Heath to confirm Trustees participating by Microsoft Teams video conference.

Chair Smith called on Mr. Jeff Stensland to introduced members of the press. Mr. Stensland advised there were no members of the press in attendance.

Chair Smith stated notice of the meeting and agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act, the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Board, and a quorum was present to conduct business.

MOTION TO ENTER EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Smith advised there was a need for an Executive Session for the receipt of legal advice regarding Athletics Contractual matters. Mr. Harlan made a motion to enter executive session and Mr. Mobley seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried unanimously. The following were invited to remain: Trustees, Secretary Heath, Assistant Secretary Howell, Members of the President's Cabinet, Mr. Sobieralski, Mr. Stensland, and Board of Trustees Staff members.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive Session Removed

BOT_CALLED 010421 PAGE 2 OF 4

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

II. Approval of Athletics Assistant Football Coaching Contract

Chair Smith called on Mr. Terry Parham to present Athletics assistant football coaching contracts for approval.

Mr. Parham presented one motion for approval of four new assistant football coaching contracts. The coaches included Erik Kimrey, Pete Lembo, Justin Stepp and Will Friend. The terms of each contract were posted on the Board portal prior to the meeting and Mr. Parham provided Jeff Stensland copies for the press.

Chair Smith called for a motion to approve the new assistant football coaching contracts as presented and posted on the Board portal. Mr. Burroughs made the motion and Dr. Floyd seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried.

Mr. Parham presented one motion for approval of four existing assistant football coaching contracts. These coaches include Coach Bobo, Coach Kitchings, Coach Petersen, and Coach Rocker. The terms of each contract were posted on the Board portal prior to the meeting.

Chair Smith called for a motion to approve the four existing assistant football coaching contracts as presented and posted on the Board portal. Mr. Adams made the motion and Mr. English seconded the motion. A vote as taken, and the motion carried.

III. <u>Approval of a Non-Board, Non-Voting Expert Advisor to the Health and Medical Affairs Committee</u>

Chair Smith advised the Health and Medical Affair Committee met immediately prior to this meeting and recommended full Board approval of Dr. Angelo Sinopoli as a non-board, non-voting expert advisor to the Health and Medical Affairs Committee. Mr. Mobley made the motion to approve Dr. Angelo Sinopoli as a non-board, non-voting expert advisor to the

BOT_CALLED 010421 PAGE **3** OF **4**

Health and Medical Affairs Committee and Mr. Whittle seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried.

IV. Adjournment

Chair Smith declared the meeting adjourned at 3:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Ilmty flamy

J. Cantey Heath, Jr.

Secretary

BOT_CALLED 010421 PAGE **4** OF **4**