The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

### BOARD OF TRUSTEES - CALLED

November 22, 2021

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees convened in a called meeting at 9:35 a.m. on Monday, November 22, 2021 in the Floyd Boardroom of the Pastides Alumni Center and via Microsoft Teams video and audio conference.

Members present were Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Board Chair; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Board Vice Chair; Mr. C. Dan Adams; Mr. Alex English; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Brian C. Harlan; Mr. Richard A. Jones Jr.; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Ms. Emma W. Morris; Ms. Rose Buyck Newton; Mr. Robin D. Roberts; Ms. Molly M. Spearman; Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.; Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.; and Mr. Charles H. Williams. Members participating by Microsoft Teams video and audio conference were Mr. Toney J. Lister, Mr. Miles Loadholt, and Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr. Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs was absent.

Also present were USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chair Dr. Audrey Korsgaard, USC Columbia Student Government President Mr. Alex Harrell, and strategic advisor to the Board Mr. David Seaton.

Others in attendance were Interim President Harris Pastides; Secretary Cameron Howell; Assistant Vice President, Media and External Engagement Jeff Stensland; Board of Trustees support staff; and representatives from R. William Funk & Associates Mr. Bill Funk, Mr. Willy Funk, and Ms. Kayla O'Rourke.

#### **OPEN SESSION**

### I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chair Smith called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone. Chair Smith asked Trustees in the room to introduce themselves. Secretary Howell confirmed Trustees attending via Microsoft Teams video and audio conference.

Chair Smith called on Mr. Jeff Stensland to introduce members of the media. Mr. Stensland introduced Lucas Daprile with the *State*, Jerry Bowen with the *Daily Gamecock*, and Jessica Holdman with the *Post and Courier*.

Chair Smith stated notice of the meeting and agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Board; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

### MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Smith advised there was a need for an Executive Session to discuss personnel matters related to candidates for the position of President. Mr. Warr made the motion to enter Executive Session, and Mr. Whittle seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried unanimously. Chair Smith invited the following to remain: Trustees, Secretary Howell, Dr. Korsgaard, Mr. Harrell, Mr. Seaton, Mr. Funk Sr., Mr. Funk Jr., and Ms. O'Rourke.

Chair Smith stated there would be no action taken in Executive Session. He noted that the Board would adjourn immediately following the conclusion of Executive Session—that is, that agenda items noticed for the day regarding approval of minutes and review of the Board's 2022 meeting calendar would not be addressed after Open Session resumed. He asked those not asked to remain in Executive Session to exit the Boardroom.

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

- Executive Session Removed

# RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

II. Adjournment

Chair Smith declared the meeting adjourned at 6:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cameron Howell Secretary