The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES - CALLED

December 6, 2021

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees convened in a called meeting at 5:30 p.m. on Monday, December 6, 2021 in the Floyd Boardroom of the Pastides Alumni Center and via Microsoft Teams video and audio conference.

Members present were Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Board Chair; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Board Vice Chair; Mr. Alex English; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Brian C. Harlan; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Mr. Robin D. Roberts; Ms. Molly M. Spearman; Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.; Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.; and Mr. Charles H. Williams. Members participating by Microsoft Teams video and audio conference were Mr. C. Dan Adams, Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs, Mr. Richard A. Jones Jr., Mr. Toney J. Lister, Mr. Miles Loadholt, Ms. Leah B. Moody, Ms. Emma W. Morris, Ms. Rose Buyck Newton, and Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr.

Also present were USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chair Dr. Audrey Korsgaard and USC Columbia Student Government President Mr. Alex Harrell. Strategic advisor to the Board Mr. David Seaton participated by videoconference.

Others in attendance were Secretary Cameron Howell; Assistant Vice President,
Media and External Engagement Jeff Stensland; and IT Production Manager Matt Warthen.

Participating via videoconference were representatives from R. William Funk & Associates:
Mr. Bill Funk, Mr. Willy Funk, and Ms. Kayla O'Rourke.

BOT – 120621 PAGE **1** OF **3**

OPEN SESSION

I. Call to Order

Chair Smith called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone. Chair Smith asked Trustees in the room to introduce themselves. Secretary Howell confirmed Trustees attending via Microsoft Teams video and audio conference.

Chair Smith called on Mr. Jeff Stensland to introduce members of the media, and Mr. Stensland did as requested.

Chair Smith stated notice of the meeting and agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Board; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Smith advised there was a need for an Executive Session to discuss personnel matters related to candidates for the position of President. Mr. English made the motion to enter Executive Session, and Mr. Mobley seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried unanimously. Chair Smith invited the following to remain: Trustees, Secretary Howell, Dr. Korsgaard, Mr. Harrell, Mr. Seaton, Mr. Funk Sr., Mr. Funk Jr., Ms. O'Rourke, and Mr. Warthen.

Chair Smith stated there would be no action taken in Executive Session. He noted that the Board would complete some process-related actions once Open Session resumed. He asked those not asked to remain in Executive Session to exit the Boardroom.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive Session Removed

BOT – 120621 PAGE **2** OF **3**

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

II. Acknowledge Receipt of December 2 Recommendations from the Presidential Candidate Search Committee

Chair Smith requested a motion for the Board to acknowledge receipt of the recommendations issued by the Presidential Candidate Search Committee on Thursday, December 2, denoting candidates for further consideration by the Board. Dr. Floyd made the motion, and Mr. Harlan seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried.

On behalf of the entire Board, Chair Smith thanked the Presidential Candidate Search Committee for its exemplary work.

III. Authorization of Chair and Vice Chair to Schedule Further Steps in Presidential Search

Chair Smith requested a motion to authorize the Chair and Vice Chair to schedule further steps in the presidential search. Mr. Williams made the motion, and Mr. Warr seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried.

Chair Smith noted that he and Vice Chair Westbrook would take further steps on behalf of the Board in a prudent fashion.

IV. Adjourn

Chair Smith declared the meeting adjourned at approximately 6:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cameron Howell Secretary

BOT – 120621 PAGE **3** OF **3**