The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Health and Medical Affairs Committee

Called Meeting - January 4, 2021

The Health and Medical Affairs Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met in a called meeting at 3:00 p.m. on Monday, January 4, 2021 by Microsoft Teams hosted in Conference Room 206B of the Osborne Administration Building.

Members participating via Microsoft Teams were Mr. Hubert F. Mobley, Chair; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Brian C. Harlan; Mr. Richard Jones; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Ms. Emma W. Morris; Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Board Chair; and Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Board Vice Chair. Ms. Molly M. Spearman was absent.

Other Board members participating via Microsoft Teams were Mr. C. Dan Adams; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Alex English; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Ms. Rose Buyck Newton; Mr. Robin D. Roberts; Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr.; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.

Others participating via Microsoft Teams were President's Chief of Staff Mark D. Bieger; Presidential Faculty Fellow Susan Bon; General Counsel and Executive Director of Compliance Programs Terry Parham; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost Dennis Pruitt; Special Assistant to the President James Smith; University Treasurer and Assistant Vice President and Chief of Staff for Division of Administration and Finance Joe Sobieralski; Director of Athletics Ray Tanner; and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Bill Tate.

HMAC – 010421 Page 1 of 3

Those present in the room were Secretary J. Cantey Heath Jr., Assistant Secretary Cameron Howell, Assistant Vice President for Media and External Engagement Jeff Stensland, and Board support staff.

OPEN SESSION

I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chair Mobley called the meeting to order, welcomed those in attendance, and asked everyone in the room to introduce themselves. Secretary Heath confirmed Trustees joining by Microsoft Teams. Mr. Stensland advised there were no members of the press participating.

Chair Mobley stated notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

II. Approval of Non-Board, Non-Voting Expert Advisor

Chair Mobley stated as previously discussed and in accordance with Board Bylaws, Article VII., Section 1, Item F, the Health and Medical Affairs Committee is seeking approval to appoint Dr. Angelo Sinopoli as a non-Board, non-voting expert advisor to the Committee. He called for a motion to recommend this appointment to the full Board. The appointment of Dr. Sinopoli would be effective upon full Board approval through the August 2022 committee reorganization. Mr. Whittle so moved, and Mr. Harlan seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

HMAC – 010421 Page 2 of 3

III. Adjournment

There being no other matters to come before the Committee, Chair Mobley adjourned the meeting at 3:04 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jennty Hamp

J. Cantey Heath, Jr.

Secretary

HMAC – 010421 Page 3 of 3