The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Called Meeting

March 24, 2022

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees convened in a called meeting at 12:00 p.m. on Thursday, March 24, 2022 by Microsoft Teams video conference hosted from room 206B of the Osborne Administration Building.

Members participating via Microsoft Teams video conference were Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Chair; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Vice Chair; Mr. C. Dan Adams; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Alex English; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Brian C. Harlan; Mr. Richard A. Jones Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Robin D. Roberts; Ms. Molly M. Spearman; and Mr. Charles H. Williams. Ms. Emma W. Morris, Ms. Rose Buyck Newton, Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., and Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr. were absent.

USC Student Government President Alex Harrell, Strategic Advisor to the Board of Trustees David Seaton, and Interim President Harris Pastides participated by Microsoft Teams. Others present in the room were Secretary Cameron Howell, General Counsel Terry Parham, University Treasurer and Assistant Vice President of Administrative Operations and Chief of Staff Joe Sobieralski, Vice President of Media and External Engagement Jeff Stensland, Athletics Director Ray Tanner, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Ed Walton, IT Production Manager Matt Warthen, and Board of Trustees' support staff Anna Brannin and Cary Graham.

OPEN SESSION

I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chair Smith called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone. Secretary Howell confirmed Trustees attending by Microsoft Teams video conference. Chair Smith called on Mr. Stensland to introduce members of the press. Mr. Stensland announced Caleb Bozard with the *Daily Gamecock*, John Whittle with the Big Spur.com, Michael Lananna with the *State*, Collyn Taylor with Gamecock Central, Veronica Hill with WIS-TV, and Corey Diaz with USA Today Network were on the press line.

Chair Smith stated notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act, the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Board, and a quorum was present to conduct business.

MOTION TO ENTER EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Smith stated there was a need for an Executive Session to discuss matters regarding a proposed Athletics contract for employment of a Head Men's Basketball Coach. Mr. Westbrook made the motion to enter Executive Session and Mr. Roberts seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried unanimously.

Chair Smith stated no action would be taken in Executive Session and invited the following to remain: Trustees, Interim President Pastides, Secretary Howell, Mr. Harrell, Mr. Seaton, Mr. Parham, Mr. Walton, Mr. Tanner, Mr. Sobieralski, Mr. Warthen, and Board of Trustees' support staff.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

- Executive Session Removed

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

II. <u>Approval of Contract for Athletics Coach</u>

Chair Smith called for a motion to approve the Head Men's Basketball Coach contract for Lamont Paris as posted to the Board portal and presented in Executive Session. Mr. English made the motion, and Ms. Moody seconded the motion. A vote was taken by acclamation, and the motion carried. Mr. Williams voted against the motion. Chair Smith stated that a summary of the terms of the contract would be provided to the media.

Chair Smith stated there would be a press release issued after the meeting and a press conference would be held later in the day to announce the hire of the new Head Men's Basketball Coach.

III. <u>Adjournment</u>

There being no other matters on the called meeting agenda, Chair Smith adjourned the meeting at 12:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cameron Howell Secretary