The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

## University of South Carolina

#### **BOARD OF TRUSTEES - CALLED**

January 12, 2022

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees convened in a called meeting at 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, January 12, 2022 via Microsoft Teams video and audio conference hosted from conference room 206B of the Osborne Administration Building.

Members participating were Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Board Chair; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Board Vice Chair; Mr. C. Dan Adams; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Alex English; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Brian C. Harlan; Mr. Richard A. Jones Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Ms. Emma W. Morris; Ms. Rose Buyck Newton; Mr. Robin D. Roberts; Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr.; Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.; Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.; and Mr. Charles H. Williams. Ms. Molly M. Spearman was absent.

Also participating were USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chair Dr. Audrey Korsgaard and USC Columbia Student Government President Mr. Alex Harrell.

Others in attendance were Secretary Cameron Howell; Assistant Vice President,

Media and External Engagement Jeff Stensland; and IT Production Manager Matt Warthen.

OPEN SESSION

## I. Call to Order

Chair Smith called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone. Chair Smith asked Secretary Howell to confirm Trustees attending via Microsoft Teams video and audio conference.

BOT – 011222 PAGE **1** OF **2** 

Chair Smith called on Mr. Jeff Stensland to introduce members of the media, and Mr. Stensland did as requested.

Chair Smith stated notice of the meeting and agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Board; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

# MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Smith advised there was a need for an Executive Session to discuss personnel matters related to candidates for the position of President. Mr. Loadholt made the motion to enter Executive Session, and Ms. Morris seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried. Chair Smith invited the following to remain: Trustees, Secretary Howell, Dr. Korsgaard, and Mr. Harrell.

Chair Smith stated there would be no action taken in Executive Session. He noted that the Board would adjourn once Open Session resumed. He asked those not asked to remain in Executive Session to exit the room.

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Executive Session Removed

## RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

### II. Adjourn

Chair Smith declared the meeting adjourned at approximately 6:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cameron Howell Secretary

BOT – 011222 PAGE **2** OF **2**