The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Finance and Infrastructure Committee - Called

January 7, 2022

The Finance and Infrastructure Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees convened in a called meeting at 11:00 a.m. on Friday, January 7, 2022 by Microsoft Teams video conference hosted from Room 206B of the Osborne Administration Building.

Committee members participating by Microsoft Teams were Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr., Chair; Mr. C. Dan Adams; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Toney J. Lister; and Ms. Rose Buyck Newton. Members participating in person were Mr. Alex English; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Board Chair; and Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Board Vice Chair. Dr. C. Edward Floyd and Mr. Charles H. Williams were absent.

Other Board members participating by Microsoft Teams were Mr. Brian C. Harlan, Mr. Richard A. Jones Jr., Mr. Miles Loadholt, Ms. Leah B. Moody, Ms. Emma W. Morris, Mr. Robin D. Roberts, and Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr. Mr. Hubert F. Mobley participated in person.

Also present were USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chair Dr. Audrey Korsgaard and USC Columbia Student Government President Mr. Alex Harrell. Special Advisor to the Board of Trustees, Mr. David Seaton, participated by Microsoft Teams.

Others in attendance were Interim President Harris Pastides; Secretary Cameron

FIC (Called) – 010722 Page 1 of 4

Howell; University Architect and Associate Vice President for Facilities, Design and Construction Derek Gruner; General Counsel and Executive Director of Compliance Programs Terry Parham; University Treasurer and Associate Vice President and Chief of Staff for the Division of Administration and Finance Joe Sobieralski; Assistant Vice President, Media and External Engagement Jeff Stensland; IT Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board of Trustees support staff Cary Graham.

OPEN SESSION

I. Call to Order

Chair Whittle called the meeting to order, welcomed those in attendance, and asked everyone in the room to introduce themselves. Secretary Howell confirmed Trustees joining by Microsoft Teams. Chair Whittle called on Mr. Stensland to introduce members of the press. Mr. Stensland introduced Caleb Bozard with the *Daily Gamework*, Lucas Daprile with the *State*, and Jessica Holdman with the *Post & Courier* in attendance via the call-in press line.

Chair Whittle stated notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

MOTION TO ENTER EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Whittle stated there was a need for an Executive Session to discuss a legal matter covered by attorney-client privilege. Mr. Lister made the motion to enter Executive Session and Ms. Newton seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried unanimously.

Chair Whittle stated no action would be taken in Executive Session and invited the following to remain: Trustees, Interim President Pastides, Secretary Howell, Mr. Harrell, Dr.

FIC (Called) – 010722 Page 2 of 4

Korsgaard, Mr. Seaton, Mr. Parham, Mr. Gruner, Mr. Sobieralski, and Board of Trustees support staff. Chair Whittle asked those not asked to stay to please exit.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Executive Session Removed

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

II. <u>Recommendation to the Board of Trustees regarding Honorific Naming of 700</u> Lincoln Street

Chair Whittle stated the laws of the State of South Carolina delegate to the Board of Trustees the responsibility for oversight and decision-making for the University of South Carolina. The Board of Trustees Bylaws further outline specific Committees and processes related to certain decisions. Article VIII, Section 4.H. of University Bylaws charge the Finance and Infrastructure Committee to "review in advance all recommendations relating to naming of buildings and [to] make recommendations to the Board regarding the same."

After review of University Bylaws, consideration of information supplied by members of the University and community, including the Presidential Commission on University History and Drs. Bobby Donaldson and Walter Edgar, and thorough discussion among members of this Committee and the Board, Chair Whittle stated he was pleased that the Committee was ready to make an honorific naming recommendation to the full Board of Trustees. He called on University Architect, Mr. Derek Gruner, to provide additional information regarding the location of 700 Lincoln Street.

Chair Whittle thanked Mr. Gruner for the historical context and stated the report was received as information.

Chair Whittle called for a motion to recommend full Board approval of the naming of the student residence building at 700 Lincoln Street in honorific memory of University of FIC (Called) – 010722

Page 3 of 4

South Carolina alumna Celia Dial Saxon. Mr. Adams made the motion, and Mr. English seconded the motion. A vote was taken, and the motion carried unanimously.

Chair Whittle stated this agenda item was approved and would be presented to the full Board during its called meeting later in the day. He noted today was an important one for the University and expressed confidence that there will be other future opportunities to honor the rich and diverse history of the University.

III. Adjournment

There being no other matters to be considered by the Committee, Chair Whittle declared the meeting adjourned at 11:47 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cameron Howell Secretary

FIC (Called) – 010722 Page 4 of 4